top of page

Motivation & Learning

The first week of the DIY course will focus on a few fundamental concepts that I think are important for anyone to understand if they are to be an independent learner.

The first of these is MOTIVATION.

I started the lesson on motivation with a story of my own struggle with motivation. I shared a story of how I knitted a blue sweater and how the journey was indeed a lot harder than I had expected. Students were able to quickly identify what kept me motivated in my story.

This story was meant to be a hook for the rest of the class.

 

Students were placed in groups to discover what motivation was, what it looked like, and how to

help people who lack motivation.

This lead to a really great class discussion where I saw that students were really engaged - the discussion points and conversation was one not just of surface level. Students discussed without my lead, intrinsic motivation and the fact that motivation is different for everyone.

 

Next, they did a self-assessment to see where their current motivation was. From there, students set goals for where they would like to be on this self-assessment.

My hope is that through what they learn in this course, they will able to see growth in their motivation (for learning).

I ended it with a comparative look at various characteristics of a motivated and unmotivated learner.

 

REFLECTION:

Looking at the student surveys and reading students reactions to this activity was a wake-up call. I was surprised to learn how unmotivated some of my students were. It made me curious to learn more about them and to find the cause of this lack of motivation.

For me, continuing my learning in motivation and the role it plays in education is essential. I will try to guide students in understanding their motivation and how they deal with obstacles in a way that they do not give up.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page